Image Source:

The 2019 Women’s World Cup kicked off last Friday (June 14th) with 24 teams fighting to be crowned “queens” of the game over a month-long tournament in France.

The 24 teams were classed into six groups. Africa’s representatives are Nigeria’s Super Falcons, while the Banyana Banyana for the South Africa and the Indomitable Lionesses are for the Cameroon.

The groups with African representatives are the following:

GROUP A: France (hosts), Korea Republic, Norway, Nigeria
GROUP B: Germany, China, Spain, South Africa
GROUP E: Canada, Cameroon, New Zealand, Netherlands

“The Super Falcons bowed narrowly to the hosts but they produced a glorious showing. They will wait for the outcome of games in the other groups to confirm their place in the last 16,” the official Twitter handle wrote after Monday night’s 1 – 0 loss to France.

The controversial goal, a replayed spot kick, proved to be the decider of a game the Nigerians had to at least draw to secure a spot in the knock out stage.

The French were awarded a penalty on the 74th minute mark but they failed to convert. However, the referee ordered a retake after the goalie was penalized for going off her line.

On the second try, the French player Renard converted the only goal of the game with Nigeria holding on with ten-men after one of their players was dismissed for the foul that gave the French the penalty.

In this rolling coverage, ViewPointNigeria aims to keep up to date with the major ongoings around the three African teams, so stay tuned to get the latest World Cup news.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here